Past Visits

Visits 2016

Wednesday 16 March RAF Scampton: Dambusters Heritage Centre & Museum of
Firefighting (inc. fire engines collection)
Wednesday 20 April Lincoln: FCC Environmental Waste to Energy Centre & the
Lincolnshire Road Transport Museum (possible vintage bus ride)
Saturday 21 May Loughborough: Lunch on steam train Great Central Railway (as our much enjoyed 2013 trip)
Tuesday 12 July Newark: the new Civil War Centre, Castle guided tour & River Trent boat trip (in conjunction with our U3A Local History group)
Thursday 25 August Leicester: Glenfield Tunnel & Swannington area industrial
archaeology visit (postponed from 2015)
18 – 20 October North Yorkshire: Thorp Perrow, Kiplin Hall, Solberge Hall hotel,
North Yorks Moors & Whitby, Ampleforth Abbey

Visits 2015

Tuesday 17 February  Louth Theatre ‘Private Lives’, preceded by dinner at Marrakesh.
Monday 2 March  JCB Works visit, Rocester
Saturday 11 April Cafe Jazz, Grimsby Central Hall
Friday 17 to Monday 20 April Jazz Weekend at Scarborough
24/25 April Shuttleworth Collection & Swiss Gardens, Old Warden; Bletchley Park Computer Museum OR Woburn Abbey (AMENDED)
Wednesday 13 May ‘The King & I’ at Louth Riverhead Theatre (B) optional pre-show dinner at Marrakesh (car share) – Fully Booked
Tuesday 19 May Bradford Industrial Museum; Saltaire Village (World Heritage
Site), Salt’s Mill, David Hockney Gallery  Fully Booked
Friday 5 June Two Gardens of York (Breezy Knees Gardens & Burnby Hall Gardens)
18/19 June Belton House, Victorian Music Hall evening, Roses & Butterflies Cancelled due to lack of support
4 to 7 July Kew Gardens and Greenwich, London (Hampton Court Flower Show, Kew Gardens, Thames boat trip, full day at Greenwich, stop at Stamford en route home)
Saturday 11 July ‘Henry V’, Tolthorpe Theatre, nr. Stamford  Fully Booked
Thursday 6 August Industrial archaeology walk on old sites, Leicestershire Postponed to 2016 Programme
17 August Lincoln Railway Signalling Centre (limited to 12 persons) 
Fully booked.
Mon. 24 August Yorkshire Sculpture Park
5 to 7 October Autumn in the Forest of Dean (Morgan Cars factory tour, Symonds Yat, Goodrich Castle, guided tour of the Forest, visit to private military vehicle collection)
Friday 06 November Afternoon Tea at a Stately Home